Niger Insurance Plc has notified The Nigerian Stock Exchange that effective 1st January, 2016, Alhaji Bala Zakariyau (Chairman) and Mr. Frederick Nnamdi Udechukwu (Director) would retire from its board. The Board also approved the appointment of Umaru H. Modibbo and Dr. Stephen N. Dike as non-executive directors of the company. Mr. Yusuf H. Abukakar, OON, was also appointed as Chairman of the Company to replace the retiring Alhaji Bala Zakariyau.

Umaru H. Modibbo is a graduate of Business Administration from the Ahmadu Bello University Zaria (1983). He started his working career in 1985. He qualified as a Stockbroker and Dealing Clerk of The Nigerian Stock Exchange in December 1991 and is an Associate member of the Chartered Institute of Stockbrokers. He is the founder and Managing Director/CEO of Sigma Pensions Limited.

Dr. Stephen N. Dike holds an earned Ph.D. in Economics, an MBA in Finance, an M.S. in Resource Management, an M.A. in Economics and a B.S. in Chemistry from West Virginia University. He held Series 7 and 24 Investment Banking Licenses in the United States. He was an Adjunct Professor of Finance and Management from 1988 to 2001 and taught various graduate and doctoral level courses in finance and management for various universities in the Washington DC area. He is the Chairman of Advanced Management and Technology Solutions (AMTS) and Chairman of Montgomery Nigeria Limited.